Oh I do love to be beside the seaside

Thanks once more to Rochelle for harvesting the Friday Fictioneers 100-word stories. You’ll find the whole hoard in the store-cupboard at this little LINK. My story is set in September 2015, in the English seaside town of Lyme Regis (sandcastles, cream teas, fossils and Jane Austen).

Thanks also to Marie Gail Stratford for the photo prompt.

crystals

Oh I do love to be beside the seaside

Your beloved cove – it’ll be as good as new.

That’s my son, the oil company PR guru. But he didn’t expect me to go and see for myself.

We honeymooned there, my late husband and I; slept deep to the sound of waves, woke to the call of seagulls.

Last night I lay awake as the huge machines washed the sand and filtered the seawater.  After my morning coffee I rang a few newspapers, packed a bag and fetched my walking stick.

Eighty-five-year-old woman joins environmental camp.

My beloved son – doesn’t he realise who gave him those PR skills?

M J Lewis ©2015

15 thoughts on “Oh I do love to be beside the seaside

  1. Thanks for all your kind comments. I do like to go on a bit so finding I can be effective in 100 words is a pleasing surprise.
    Glad you liked the mother/son bit Nan.
    Have been thinking about mother/son relationships with my son home from Uni this week for friends, work and family in that order.
    For a mighty piece on family conflict do read Karen Rawson’s A Damn Fine Fire.
    Cheers,
    MJ
    PS And if you’ve ever near Lyme Regis it is truly a lovely place.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

