Finders Keepers

kitchen-window

Finders Keepers

Living alone has its advantages. Autumn mornings I rise at the grey light of dawn and tramp up the field, mist-swathed, droplets of water glistening on my musty greatcoat and feral hair.

In the drip, drip of the copse a mewling beckons from beneath brambles; I reach in to retrieve a box, within it something compact, sweet-smelling.

A vehicle is climbing the rough track – gears shifting, headlights. I dart back through the gap in the trees. As I jog the mile to my cottage, I secrete the box snug inside my coat and its warmth begins to penetrate my breast.

M J Lewis ©2015

Compliments of the season to all Friday Fictioneers, of whatever faith or creed, from this C of E carol singing Atheist.

Actually Christmas here has been temporarily suspended whilst my partner and I recover from the flu, and at the same time try and ensure our children don’t come home to a festive virus. Didn’t know it was possible for your hair to hurt, along with most other bodily parts at various times during this long week.

Thank goodness for Rochelle and all these stories from around the world to keep me entertained whilst housebound. Will be visiting but – apologies – possibly not commenting due to lack of energy. Thanks also to the multi-talented Rochelle for the photo.

 

dream girl cover right size

Dream Girl is still available on Amazon at the shockingly low price of 99p

20 thoughts on “Finders Keepers

Leave a Reply

