The Most Trivial Post so far…

The Appreciation of Television

p01tlmw6

I should be writing an important letter, I need to update my About page and I’ve started, and can’t finish, a poem entitled The Appreciation of Reading. All good excuses for writing something else instead…

I’m sure there are other Brits out there enjoying not only the rugged windswept landscape, but also the gruff windswept  charms of D.I. Jimmy Perez (played by Douglas Henshall), in the BBC crime/detective series Shetland. 

Years ago my son’s favourite Saturday night TV programme was the Sci-Fi creation Primeval, which as Wikipedia puts it ‘follows a team of scientists tasked with investigating the appearance of temporal anomalies across Great Britain, through which prehistoric and futuristic creatures enter the present, as well as trying to stop the end of the world.’ (I’d actually missed that last piece of plot: the end of the world – crikey! I thought it was just mildly threatening dinosaur fun.) Anyway, this also starred the aforementioned wonderful Douglas Henshall.

And there he was in Shetland, in Shetland, on a Friday night (furrowed brow and piercing blue eyes), thinking aloud as he tried to fit together the pieces of the latest grisly crime to afflict his troubled archipelago, when he said it; D.I. Jimmy Perez, formerly dinosaur hunter Professor Nick Cutter, uttered the words I thought I’d never hear again: ‘It’s an anomaly.’ I was so happy I nearly rolled off the sofa.

So now here we are, coming up to the concluding episode, and I’ll be there, glass of wine to hand, ears pinned back hoping (Please, Jimmy!) they’ve dared to put that line in. It goes something like this: ‘Well he wasn’t just evil, he wasn’t just very, very evil; in fact he was prime evil…’

Go on Jimmy – you know you want to. (And for other daft fans, do you think he’ll get the girl in this one or is that too much to ask?)

Miranda

PS Of course he didn’t say it, but it was a good ending and I was looking in completely the wrong direction for the solution. Jimmy Perez meanwhile was doing his job of being suspicious of everyone (including his potential love-interest) and saved the day. Wouldn’t perhaps know it from this post, but great supporting cast too and especially Alison O’Donnell as Tosh McIntosh. Looking forward to the next series.

douglas_henshall_0

Leave a Reply

