Head-in-the-clouds Inventor requires Feet-on-the-ground Assistant

emmylgant

Head-in-the-clouds Inventor requires Feet-on-the-ground Assistant

For the boss of a company worth millions he was unprepossessing.

Half of what I say is rubbish, half genius. Work out which is which and the job’s yours.

So started the most exciting week of my life. I’d never laughed so much or drunk so much coffee; we ran everywhere. On Friday he declared his undying love.

Now that really is rubbish, I said as I left.

I work in a library now, sipping herb tea at my desk and dreaming of what might have been and what indeed is still to come, in just a few weeks’ time.

MJ Lewis ©2016

So here we are on a Wednesday evening at Friday Flash Fiction, weighing in – as you might expect from a Maths teacher – at an exact 100 words (titles don’t count, right?).

Thanks to Rochelle, our seemingly indefatigable Friday Fiction host, and to Emmy L Gant for providing the amazing photo. A dramatic storm over Paris – and I happened on what I think is a rubbish bin. Such is the serendipity and tolerance of Friday Fiction.

Thanks to all who visit.

(PS Large fingers, small phone – I seem to have liked my own post. Ooops! Very embarrassing!)

23 thoughts on “Head-in-the-clouds Inventor requires Feet-on-the-ground Assistant

    • An unprepossessing exterior can indeed hide hidden treasures – but perhaps she was after something else?
      To be very PC it probably applies to people and yard sales. Of course sometimes what you see is what you get.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. The title is wonderful! It sets the tone beautifully
    I like the nearly endless possibilities left to the imagination in the conclusion of your story.
    There’s a book or even a movie in there hiding…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

