Go or Stay?

100_7227-1

Go or Stay?

Two am: one last time, you ask the hollow-eyed girl in the mirror that simple question: Go or stay?

If you could follow it back, hand over hand, when did it go wrong? Was it one day, one hour, one moment when doubt crept in? Or was it built layer upon layer, the whole sad, human edifice of seemingly insignificant details?

Don’t come to the airport, I might die of sadness, I said.

Meaning: Come to the airport, I’m already dying.

He sleeps on; scrumpled face, mouth slightly open. Sweet, vulnerable. But then love was always the easy bit.

M J Lewis 2016

Flying in very late to Friday Fiction, hosted by the writer Rochelle Wissoff -Fields at Addicted to Purple, with photo prompt from Rich Voza.

This post is not an allegory, a metaphor, a whatever – it’s just a piece of fiction. On the other hand, I did go to bed Thursday night here in London, UK, Europe and woke up in Little England. Frankly, still stunned!

America – watch and learn. Donald and Boris? Don’t even think it, only now I have.

 

9 thoughts on “Go or Stay?

  1. I was inside your character’s head, and I believed it all. Yes, love is the easy bit. By the way, I also laughed at your explanation of going to bed in the UK and waking up in little England.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for all your comments – much appreciated. After the Europe exit vote I felt like jumping on a plane myself – not sure where to – and didn’t get around to much visiting and commenting. Not the end of the world – well not yet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

