The Whole Wide World

back-ally1

The Whole Wide World

She loved the big atlas in the dusty corner of the schoolroom. Her tiny fingers paddling across the mighty oceans, she visited the whiskered Chinaman and the black-skirted lady outside her little white house.

At playtime she tipped her chin to the sky, opening her arms to embrace it all and turning round and round as she pictured the people – North, South, East and West – living their strange lives beyond the stamped earth of the schoolyard.

Miss James sighed. At least that funny little mouse was a quiet one; but really, what was the point of educating farm labourers’ children?

M J Lewis 2016

Welcome to Friday Fiction, hosted by writer and artist Rochelle Wissoff-Fields. Thanks also to Jan Marler Morrill who provided this week’s photo prompt. To visit more 100 word stories from around the whole wide world click here.

Here in the UK – don’t shout it too loud – summer finally seems to be arriving. No rain so far this week of Wimbledon, that resilient Scott Andy Murray through to the next round (although wouldn’t have minded if the lovely Tsonga had won through) and the Welsh football team playing Portugal as I write this.

Hope all is well with you and yours in these uncertain and troubling times.

Miranda

33 thoughts on “The Whole Wide World

  1. This little one will change the world. I’m glad my teachers saw through the poverty and took a chance on me. As a physician I have changed a small piece of the world. All girls deserve an education. This piece really struck a cord with me.
    Thank you,
    Tracey

    Liked by 5 people

  2. I was a farm child too. My dad never made it past the 4th grade and Mom had an eighth grade education, but both encourage learning and a healthy imagination. I’ve always loved to make up stories and now I get to share them with the world. Life is good.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Such a charming story, highlighting the vividness of a child’s imagination. The touch of irony at the end was expertly inserted. I was thrown momentarily by the POV change, but the clues were there – I just missed them. Lovely!.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is beautiful and sad, what a sad attitude from a teacher. I experienced the opposite. A teacher talked to my parents so passionately on my behalf that they finally agreed to let me go to highschool. I love this story, the child will go far/went far, I hope.

    Liked by 3 people

    • I’ve really enjoyed hearing people’s stories of their education. Fascinating and heartening.
      I think most teachers want the best for the children in their care and look out for potential – but not this invented teacher!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful descriptions of the child’s open-hearted embracing of knowledge. She’ll get there. Miss James’s narrow-mindedness isn’t enough to hold back a mind like this little one has. A really powerful story.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I empathized with the little girl so much – she could have been me! I loved school and loved studying. I hope she finds a better teacher soon. Great story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

